Chair

A couple of weeks ago I found this chair at the Rose Bowl flea market. It’s Danish and made of Walnut. When I bought it, it had a hideous covered seat – dirty pale pink with a faded floral pattern from the ’80’s I suspect. This got me excited … it meant I could reupholster the seat myself, with some of my fabric!

This is the first time I’ve upholstered something. I replaced the old layers of rotting fabric, disintegrating foam, wadding, old staples and masking tape and covered it with one of my space-to-think geometric fabrics.

I’m pleased :-)

10 Responses to “Chair”


  1. 1 Jimmy December 11, 2009 at 7:38 am

    That’s a real beauty, L! Perfect upholstery and the pattern suits the chair really well. We need to reupholster our sofa (also Danish, by Hans Wegner), maybe we can ship it to you for some geometrification?

  2. 3 erika December 23, 2009 at 9:11 am

    I really really love the chair!
    Perfect!!!
    Is it easy to change fablic?

  3. 5 lucindanewtondunn January 25, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Thanks … I’m enjoying this chair!
    It was actually really easy to change the fabric, and would be really easy to change it again if I wanted something different one day.

  4. 6 Klas Jonsson July 27, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Hi I’ve found the exact same chair and have some questions for you. Mine is marked “AVM073” under the seat (I had to look closely to find it)

    1.
    Does your chair have any signatures, and if so – what?

    My chair is in mint condition, and could hardly have been used. The seat is black leather which is strapped and stapled to the seat. The overall condition suggests that the chair is probably not reupholstered – but i got curious since the leather is stapled instead of nailed (i assume its a mid century chair – did they use staplers back then?)

    2.
    Can you recall if your chair was stapled or nailed before you reupholstered it?

    Danish Hans Wegner has made chairs that resembles this one, but i still think its designed by someone else.

    3.
    Do you have any other information about the origins of this chair?

    Please answer here or to my email

    klasjonsson@hotmail.com

    I’ll be sure to let you know if I find any info on this lovely piece of furniture! Ps. Good job on the reupholstery!

    Thanks!

    /Klas, Sweden

  5. 7 Klas Jonsson July 27, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Hi again. Did some more resarch and found that the chair is actually Swedish :)
    Swedish and Danish design is rather similar during this period and somewhat hard to tell apart.

    However, the chair is called “Tokyo” and was designed by Carl-Axel Acking in 1959 for the Swedish embassy in Tokyo.

    Personally I like to know the history of my furniture – so I thought you wanted to know something about it!

    Ps. Check out other Swedish masters of design like Bruno Mathsson, Alf Svensson, Yngve Ekström & Carl Malmsten.

  6. 8 lucindanewtondunn July 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Hi Klas,

    Thanks for your comments. I’m very interested to hear what you have to say, as i have no idea what this chair is! I was told it was Danish, and the style certainly seemed Danish, but other than that I hadn’t done any research. It has a hand written number ’37/SAM’ or ’37/SAN’ on the under side – but nothing official looking. Mine was upholstered with a horrible ’80’s style fabric (pink and grey faded pattern) that was also stapled to the base. I would imagine that wasn’t the original upholstery!

    I took a look at the “Tokyo” chair by Carl-Axel Acking online and realised it’s not quite the same as my chair – some details are different – the legs of mine are more tapered, and the seat doesn’t appear suspended as it does on the “Tokyo” chair. Very similar though I must admit. Perhaps mine is a copy. I love this chair and would love to know its history … especially now you’ve got me thinking about it again! Let me know if you have any more info any time …

    Thanks :-)

  7. 9 Klas Jonsson November 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    wrong again :) found it in the IKEA catalogue from 1967. The model is called “TROJA”

    • 10 lucindanewtondunn November 3, 2010 at 9:28 am

      Oh, interesting. Do you have a picture I can see?
      Ikea … that’s so funny, I would never have imagined it would be Ikea. I didn’t even know Ikea was around in the ’60’s! Thank you for letting me know.


Leave a Reply

Photos

View photos on Flickr and Instagram

Shop

Coming soon! Please contact directly.
© All Rights Reserved.

Please ask for permission before reproducing images or content. If you hold the copyright for an image or specific content and would like us to remove it then please contact us directly.

Follow spacetothink's Blog on WordPress.com

